Welcome to Mellow's Log Cabin. This blog's purpose is to supply information on a diversity of American southern music - ranging from country, blues, old-time and folk to R&B, rock'n'roll and rockabilly. I regularly present my research results about artists, labels, shows and also give guest writers a chance to publish their texts here on occasion.


• Jack Turner recordings available here.
• Update on Les Randall acetate.
• Thanks to Bob more info on Bill Harris.

Search This Blog

Monday, August 13, 2012

Smokey Joe's Piano

This is a project I was working on for a very long time. Finally I was able to finish it about a year ago but the end of Megaupload took it away this year. Here it is again! My liner notes also appeared in the American Music Magazine in April 2012. This is the only comp where you can listen to ALL of Smokey Joe's (still existing) solo recordings.


track list:
1. Lonely Sweetheart (Bill Taylor / Snearly Ranch Boys)
2. Split Personality (with Bill Taylor / Snearly Ranch Boys)
3. The Signifying Monkey
4. Listen to Me Baby
5. Perfect Girl
6. Start All Over Again
7. She's a Woman
8. Hula Bop
9. The Midnight Ride of Paul Revere
10. She's a Woman
11. Hula Bop
12. She's a Woman
13. Rock'n'Roll Ruby (Warren Smith)
14. I Need a Man (Barbara Pittman)
15. That's the Way I Feel (Jimmy Pritchett)

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Thank you very much for this!