Welcome to Mellow's Log Cabin. This blog's purpose is to supply information on a diversity of American southern music - ranging from country, blues, old-time and folk to R&B, rock'n'roll and rockabilly. I regularly present my research results about artists, labels, shows and also give guest writers a chance to publish their texts here on occasion.


• Jack Turner recordings available here.
• Update on Les Randall acetate.
• Thanks to Bob more info on Bill Harris.

Search This Blog

Monday, June 1, 2009

Sonny Fisher - Texas Rockabilly

Time for another selfmade comp! Mr. Sonny Fisher from Texas comes along with his complete original 1950s recordings for Starday. In 1979, Ace Records released an LP containing all of Fisher's released Starday songs, but the alternative take of "Rockin' Daddy" wasn't included, so I thought I can make one on my own with some liner notes and rare pictures. I hope you're gonna like it!


Track listing:
1. Rockin' Daddy
2. Hold Me Baby
3. Sneaky Pete
4. Hey Mama
5. Rockin' and a-Rollin'
6. I Can't Lose
7. Pink and Black
8. Little Red Wagon
9. Rockin' Daddy


nortoncommando said...

Thanks for posting the original Sonny Fisher stuff. I have it all on vinyl and CD but need this on my iPod. Being the King of Texas RAB, Sonny is a hero of mine. He's buried across town, a real legend here in Houston. Keep up the great posts!

Anonymous said...

Great, thanks! I suggest Jesse James for your next homemade comp.

Anonymous said...

Can ypu please post this again somehere else than Megaupload (R.I.P.)?