Welcome to Mellow's Log Cabin. This blog's purpose is to supply information on a diversity of American southern music - ranging from country, blues, old-time and folk to R&B, rock'n'roll and rockabilly. I regularly present my research results about artists, labels, shows and also give guest writers a chance to publish their texts here on occasion.


• Jack Turner recordings available here.
• Update on Les Randall acetate.
• Thanks to Bob more info on Bill Harris.

Search This Blog

Monday, June 8, 2009

Bill Haley live

No featured album today, but a set of Bill Haley's live recordings. I don't know much about these versions, for I taped them down with ClipInc, a software to recordn internet radio. These tracks are in great quality and include versions of "Rock Around the Clock", "See You Later Alligator", "Rock a-Beatin' Boogie" and "Hot Dog Buddy Buddy", songs that Haley recorded and often took into the charts. But "Jenny Jenny", for example, is a very obscure song. Haley never recorded this Little Richard title (at least not as a single, maybe it's on an album), so it's a real gem. I like Haley's live recordings much more than his studio work, they're full of energy!


Track list
1. Hot Dog Buddy Buddy
2. Jenny Jenny
3. Kansas City
4. Razzle, Dazzle
5. Rock Around the Clock
6. Rock the Joint
7. Rock a-Beatin' Boogie
8. See You Later, Alligator
9. Shake, Rattle and Roll
10. The Saints Rock'n'Roll

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

In case anyone's curious, Jenny Jenny is sung by Haley's bass player, Al Rappa, while Kansas City is sung by sax player Rudy Pompilli. Most of the songs date from either Sweden in 1968 or New York City in 1969, except for Hot Dog Buddy Buddy and Saints which were recorded for Alan Freed's radio show in 1956.